Jump to content

PubMed RSS Feed - - [Clinical presentations and classification of rosacea.]


Recommended Posts

[Clinical presentations and classification of rosacea.]

Ann Dermatol Venereol. 2011 Sep;138S2:S138-S147

Authors: Jansen T

Rosacea is a chronic skin disease affecting up to 10% of the population. It includes various combinations of characteristic signs and symptoms in a centrofacial distribution. There is a lack of consensus in the understanding of the different expressions of rosacea and the classification of the disease. It has been previously classified into four stages (pre-rosacea, stages I-III) and a variety of variants (persistent erythema and edema in rosacea, rosacea conglobata, rosacea fulminans, etc.). The National Rosacea Society (NRS) has classified rosacea into four subtypes (erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular, phymatous, ocular) and one variant (lupoid or granulomatous) avoiding assumptions on pathogenesis and progression. This classification system uses diagnostic criteria which assess both primary and secondary features of the disease. Suggestions for rosacea severity assessment have been included. Classification of rosacea into stages or subtypes, with or without progression, remains controversial until there is a better understanding of the pathogenesis of the disease.

PMID: 21907873 [PubMed - as supplied by publisher]

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?tmpl=NoSidebarfile&db=PubMed&cmd=Retrieve&list_uids=21907873&dopt=Abstract = URL to article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use