Flaxseeds

• Administrators

As I have introduced Vedic Diets and Satvik diet comes under this diet and this diet contains seeds. So first I will introduce flaxseed and the reason is, I eat flaxseed and I will tell you the benefits of flaxseed for your skin.  I already have been using natural flaxseed gel for my curly hair but had never known the benefits of flaxseed for the skin especially the rosacea skin. I have been eating flaxseed for about more than two years when I found that it has anti-inflammatory properties. So I thought why not have it for my skin besides hair.

What is Flaxseed ?

Flax commonly known as linseed is a food and fiber crop cultivated in the cooler regions of the world. There are two varieties of flaxseeds- brown and golden(1), the one I eat is brown flaxseeds because it is easily available to me.

Components of Flaxseeds

1. Polyunsaturated and saturated fatty acids : There is a mixture of fatty acids in flaxseed but polyunsaturated fatty acid (omega-3) is high in content than polysaturated fatty acids (omega-6) at the ration of 3:1.

2. Lignans : They are phytoestrogens means they are found in plants in rich amount but very weak in animals and flaxseed is the richest source of lignans. Plants contain good amount of lignans which I had described in my earlier post on my research on C.viminalis plant extract which has lignan compound in it. Lignans in flaxseed is in precursor form and converted to lignan by gut bacteria.

3. Fiber : it is a good dietary fiber source in flaxseed if you consume one tablespoon of flaxseed daily, it will give you all the benefits of flaxseed because your gut contains more immuntiy and when your gut is happy you are happy and flaxseed gives insoluble and soluble fiber to improve gut health and very friendly to bacteria and it balances the friendly bacteria of your gut to do their work to process lignan and fiber.